Past Awards

Past Chakra Student Paper Prize Recipients


Ashley Hussey "Complications in the South Asian Slavery System"

Evangelia Psarakis "Hunter/Lariviere Documents"

Honorary Mentions

Jessica Grollman "The Business of Bodies: Comparing the treatment of slaves in British, French, and Dutch slave colonies from the 17th to 19th Century"

Chelsea Thompson, "The Effects of Imperialism on a Tradition--Based Slave System"

Neha Kagal, "Resources, Bargaining Power and Domestic Violence: An Analysis of a Wastepickers Union"


Shruti Devgan, Graduate Student, Department of Sociology, Rutgers University for her paper entitled "Sacred Cyberspaces:  Virtual Commemoration and 1984 Anti Sikh Violence"

Honorable Mentions

Rochisha Narayan, Graduate Student, Department of History, Rutgers University for "Reshaping Family and Inheritance in Eighteenth-Century Banaras"  and

Sonja Thomas, Department of Women's & Gender Studies, Rutgers University for "Bodies of Difference:  Aryan Racial Origins and Sexual Morality."

Our 2008 winners:

Asmi Patel - undergraduate student awarded $250
Manjusha Nair - graduate student awarded $250

The first annual Chakra Fund Student Paper Prizes were awarded in May 2007 to the following students:

First place, graduate student ($250) -- Mona Bhan, doctoral candidate in Anthropology, for the paper entitled, "Border Practices: Labor and Nationalism among the Brogpas of Ladakh (India)."

First place, undergraduate student ($250) -- Kejal Vyas, Journalism and History major at Rutgers-Newark's College of Arts and Sciences, for the paper entitled, "Symbolism in Linguistic Nationalism in 19th and 20th Century India."

Honorable mention, undergraduate student ($100) -- Barjdeep Kaur, Finance major at Rutgers Business School, for the paper entitled, "Femal Feticide in South Asia and How it Manifests Itself in the Past, Present, and Hopefully Not, the Future."


We would like to thank the anonymous donors of the Chakra Endowed Fund, who created the endowment that makes this yearly competition possible.